Home / News / North Sea Chapter announces annual safety award winners

NDC Safety AwardsBack row from left are: Peter de Bruijne, Sam Croft, Steve Coghill, all of Noble Drilling; news presenter Jackie Bird; Donald MacFarlane of NOV Brandt; and Roger Hodgson of KCA DEUTAG. Front row from left are Gert-Jan Windhorst of Noble; Gavin Sutherland and Jim Cameron of KCA DEUTAG; Russell Robertson of Transocean; Clement Ejebu of Stena Drilling; and Ivor McBean of Diamond Offshore. 

IADC North Sea Chapter (NSC) chairman Steve Rae of Seawell announced winners of the 2008 IADC NSC Safety Awards at the group’s annual dinner in Aberdeen on 16 May. Nearly 400 IADC members and guests attended.

Performance awards were presented for jackups, semisubmersibles and platforms based on safety statistics for 2007. Noble Drilling won in the jackup category, with Rowan Drilling as runner-up. Noble also won in the platform category, with KCA DEUTAG as runner-up. The semisubmersibles award went to Stena Drilling, with Diamond Offshore as the runner-up.

North Sea Chapter announces annual safety award winners

For this year’s Merit Awards, the NSC decided to “raise the bar” by recognising operations/installations that achieved extended periods without a Restricted Work Transfer Case or above – incidents that result in individuals being unable to conduct their normal duties. Awards were given to Noble for the Clair Platform and to KCA DEUTAG for the Kvitebjørn Platform.

The Noble Piet van Ede, which has received several merit awards in recent years, was presented with an outstanding achievement award for working 10 years without a lost-time incident.

An IADC NSC Associate Member Award recognising safety innovations was presented to NOV Brandt for its VSM 300 Shale Shaker. Runners-up included innovations from Abermed, ESS Support Services Worldwide, Universal Sodexho and Weatherford.

The Chairman’s Special Award went to Russell Robertson, who has been seconded from his employing company Transocean to Step Change in Safety. The award recognises Mr Robertson’s dedication on behalf of IADC through his 30-month period of secondment.

2008 IADC vice chairman Claus V Hemmingsen of Maersk Contractors addressed the attendees, and the industry guest speaker was Graham Robinson, worksite hazard project manager for Shell’s “Goal Zero” team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *